The Brazilian Blowout

My hair is afrotastic.

Yes. Afro-freaking-tastic. I can’t wash my hair every day because it dries out my scalp. But if I don’t wash my hair after two days, my roots mat together into dreads. Don’t get me wrong, I do love my curls but I hate how much they expanded with the rain and never EVER laid right. I know part of this is because I’m biracial and the crown of my head is so frizzy and dry it is pathetic.

So, naturally when I found out about this thing called a Brazilian Blowout, I HAD to try it.

I’m going to tell you one thing: DO IT.

I am on week two since having it done and I can tell you it’s awesome. In fact, I’ve been taking photos of my hair once a week and plan to post them into one blog post.

Let me give you the low-down on what this treatment is. It’s not a chemical process that is going to fry your hair. You go to the salon and you get your hair washed with this special cleansing shampoo. Then you are washed and conditioned with step two in the product line. After that, the stylist will add a serum to your hair, blow dry and straighten your hair. The heat bonds all of the proteins and vitamins that are in  products to your hair. Then, the stylist will rinse you, add some serum and product to your hair and then blow dry and straighten your hair again…..And BOOM. Your hair is silky smooth and not frizzy. The process lasts for three months.

Now, I was a little nervous to see what my hair would do after I washed it. I liked my curls and I knew I didn’t want them to be gone completely. And, I was right in thinking that they wouldn’t be. I still have my curls, but they are much looser and less frizzy. In fact, there is essentially no frizz at all. And my hair dries a lot faster.

So, let me break it down into pros and cons:

PROS: Hair is more manageable, hair is less frizzy, hair dries quickly,hair texture doesn’t change for the worse, hair feels healthier, it takes less time to style (I went from a flat-iron time of 2 hours to 20 minutes and still maintained curl)

CONS: It is a long process (Set aside 2.5 hours for this treatment)

Here’s some beginning pics:

This is the night before the blowout when I completely brushed and picked out my hair (And before I did laundry, obviously)

BEFORE. LE FRIZZY

BEFORE. LE FRIZZY

AFTER: LE SHINY
AFTER: LE SHINY

The bottom picture is right after the treatment.

 

Do it, you won’t regret it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

