Once Should Be Enough

Earlier this year I posted a bucket list on my blog. I had posted it right after my grandpa passed away. You can view it here. Well, it’s been about a month since we buried him, and I have already done some of the things that I had said I would do.

Last week I got my second tattoo. It was rather simple but powerful; it is the infinity symbol with the word faith written in the symbol. Along one side is a cross and on the other side is two birds.

I have a lot of faith in God and what he has done for me. In fact, I think I have more faith than most of the people I know. If there is one thing I have learned, it’s that the amount of times you go to church has absolutely no bearing on the amount of faith you have. I look up at the moon and I can see God. I can see him in the sunsets at the ocean. I see power and mystery; I would much rather praise God in his natural habitat than in a building that people made to worship him in. It seems quite counterproductive to build a building to be “in the presence of God” when God made nature. That is why I had the word faith written into the infinity symbol. The cross also represented God as well as Jesus. Jesus died for me as he did for all of us. It is my belief that we owe it to him to love one another regardless of religion, race or sexual preference. My Jesus was that guy that hung out with lepers and whores and loved them anyway because no one else would (Of course I mean whore in the sense that Mary Magdalene was painted as a whore by certain people. Personally I could care less how many people she slept with). That man died for me, so I owe it to him to try to love everyone. Finally, I got two birds, one to represent Kimmy, who I have written about before on here, and one for my grandpa. Birds represent freedom and peace. They are at peace and they are free. They are always with me and someday I will be flying with them. I know it’s rather simple, but it meant a lot to me. My sister also got her first tattoo with my grandpa’s date of birth and date of death on her back.

A special thanks to Josh Slovinsky of Dark Star Tattoo in Punxsutawney, PA.

A special thanks to Josh Slovinsky of Dark Star Tattoo in Punxsutawney, PA.

The second thing off of my bucket list, which I’m not entirely sure I actually mentioned in the first blog, was to buy another gun. After my initial experience with my Smith & Wesson .38 Special, I realized I was more suited to semi-automatic hand guns than I was suited to revolvers. My boyfriend and I went to Grice Gun Shop in Clearfield, Pa. for their annual gun sale. We initially had went for ammo because Lord knows that since all of these rules have been implemented, ammunition has been scarce. Which, I find to be extremely ironic because crazy ass people are STILL killing people. So guess what? It’s PEOPLE that need help with their mental problems. PEOPLE kill people, not guns. Anyway, I went to the hand gun part of the store, even though I saw a tactical rifle that I really wanted but could not afford on the wall. I walked around the cases when I saw it: the Beretta Px4Storm. It was on sale, and no it’s not a Glock, but Beretta’s are still highly reputable around the world (I mean, come on, they are made in Italy and my moms family is from Italy, so obviously I knew it was well made). I was lucky enough to have a Beretta representative wait on me and hand me the gun. It fit so well in my hand. It was larger, which I liked because I’m not the stereotypical “small-gun” female. In fact it was molded and crafted so well that my boyfriend was like, “Hell, I want to buy this, but I’m not going to.” So I surprised him.

I told the guy to give me a form to fill out for my background check.

My boyfriend was GREEEEEENNN with envy because I wanted it bad enough to purchase it on the spot. I assured him I would let him shoot it, despite him trying to convince me to trade him for his Ruger SR9. I decided to get the 9mm model instead of the .40 cal because I didn’t think I was ready for .40 cal yet. Also, I knew I wanted him to get the Glock in .40 cal because of its good reviews and high reliability.

And within ten minutes I had my full background check complete and headed to the cash register. Which, was surprising to me because the first time I bought a gun, it took them 2.5 hours to get my background check completed. But nonetheless, the people at Grice Gun Shop are the friendliest and they know their stuff; never hesitate to ask them a question.

This Thursday I will be going out to shoot my new purchase and I am extremely excited because I already know I will like it more than the revolver, and I shot well with Kyle’s Ruger. I will probably post a picture of my target when I am finished because I am that excited. I wrote in my last blog how I feel more and more confident that I can take care of and protect myself, and this gun will provide me with such confidence. See, gun owners don’t have to be psycho. In fact, most of the gun owners in the USA are not, but psycho people steal respectable gun owners weapons. I am not planning a mass killing nor do I want to kill myself, I simply want to know that if someone ever tries to steal my purse, rape me or kill me that I have the capability of severely wounding and incapacitating them (Yes. My faith in the human race is so HIGH that I will carry a weapon because I know monsters exist and refuse to be anything less than evil. And that’s a serious issue that needs to be dealt with. Screw gun control. We need people control).

That’s two things: A new tattoo and a new gun. I have many things on my list left to do this year. They say you only live once,

And if you do it right, once should be enough.

Leave a Reply

