America, Beauty, Crime Rates, Family, Feminism, Guns, Ideals, Life Lessons, Self Defense, Self Improvement, Self-Help, Women

Stand By Me While I Save Myself

I own a Smith & Wesson 38 special.

I prefer my boyfriend’s Ruger 9mm. I hit a zombie target in the head during my first time shooting the Ruger.

In that moment when I held both weapons, I felt empowered. I didn’t feel empowered in the sense that I was going to go out and kick ass and take names, but empowered in the sense that I was capable of using force to take care of myself. I have two knives that I carry with me as well as a pink stun-gun that bursts approximately 7.8 million volts.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I do have a 6’4″ boyfriend that is a prior Marine that can easily defend me.

But, there is something special about a female that knows she is capable of taking care of herself. There’s something empowering about a woman who can look an assailant in the eye and evade him or her, or perhaps make them regret ever trying to cause harm to anyone.  I’m talking about thieves, murderers or even rapists.

Yes rapists.

Now, I’m not going to talk about rape too much strictly because I have not gone through it. I feel those stories should be reserved for those brave enough to share their stories. However, I will gladly support and start a conversation involving rape because it is a SERIOUS issue in the world. If you would like to read REAL stories about that, then check out this Tab I contributed to here. You will find more stories there.

With that being said, there are sick and twisted individuals in the world that prey upon women. Let’s face it; women aren’t built the same way as men physically and that can lead to overpowering issues. I’m also not saying that women get attacked only by men either. My point is that we women have every right to defend and protect ourselves as well as our loved ones. Some people may think me paranoid for carrying all of the weapons listed above. I find myself to strictly be using my resources wisely so that no one can think they can hurt me.

I’m not encouraging all of my female readers to go out and buy handguns, though I will admit I am glad that I did purchase one. I’m not saying that you need knives or stun guns either.

I am saying that you can be just as deadly with your hands if you choose to be, but the key is to preparing yourself.

I strongly suggest to my readers to take self-defense classes. One maneuver could be the difference between life or death. If you want a small hand gun, any attacker would think twice, especially if they are unarmed.

Women, I want you to empower yourselves to stand by one another. Don’t depend on a stronger person to be with you all the time. Don’t let a man (or woman) stand beside you and save you.

Let them watch while you save yourself.

We live in a sick and twisted world; just today I saw on CNN that people were making fun of the victim in the Steubenville Rape Case. People said she deserved it because she:
1) shouldn’t have been partying with older guys
2) shouldn’t have gotten drunk and passed out

and my personal favorite:
3) boys will be boys.

I also saw on Facebook today that someone posted that rape is not important because there are “more important things to worry about in this world.”

It made me want to vomit and throw my cell phone at the screen. How can people be so heartless, crass and stupid? HOW?

The sad thing is, that now I realize that saving myself is of the utmost importance. I will always be able to depend on my boyfriend to save me when he is around. But with the way the world is today and with how shallow and ignorant some people are….

I know that I will always be able to save myself because I won’t be able to depend on people like the ones above to help me. Those people would leave me to be raped and murdered if they could.

It’s time the country gets educated and it’s time that we all start learning how to protect ourselves. I feel safe knowing if someone ever tries to attack me that I will either stun, stab or shoot them.

I wish for all people, women especially, to feel secure as well.

Leave a Reply

