The United Divided States of America

Very seldom do I get involved in politics because it bores me to tears.

That is, until this last election.

Many of you are probably wondering if I voted, and I am going to honestly say that I did not. I find the electoral college system to be extremely flawed and that deters me from voting in elections. Nonetheless, I was happy with the outcome of this election.

I am not happy with the way that the American people have reacted to the election. In fact, I think after the last week, I have absolutely no faith in the “American” human race. This faith grew especially dim in the last day when I read a story on Yahoo! about states wanting to secede from the United States. This after I just attended a Monday Night Football game at Heinz Field where everyone in attendance celebrated the lives of those who have served our country and continue to serve it. One honorable man, a Marine specifically whose name I do not recall, was proudly in attendance. He served in Afghanistan and had both his legs amputated and some of his fingers amputated as well. I was moved to tears at his courage and the courage of all the veterans that had their stories shared. Yet, states want to secede the nation.

Talk about spitting in the face of every veteran that has ever fought for this country on the holiday that celebrates their sacrifice and honor. It’s disturbing.

These men and women go out every day and sacrifice for the American people. They fight foreign wars because they believe in a cause that we as civilians just can’t understand.

And now they may have to return home to find our nation divided?

I can’t speak for how the military feels about this, but I know that every fight that they fight, they fight with honor. I know that there is a brotherhood between the specific branches. My boyfriend is a member of the Marine Corps and if he sees any other vet with that emblem on his or her hat, he shouts “Semper Fi” and that shout is always returned with “Semper Fi” or “Fight On” or “Hoorah.” That quite frankly is something no civilian could ever understand.

I may be bold in stating this, but seceding did nothing in the 1800s but cause absolute turmoil and bloodshed.  It was supposed to be the last time that this nation had the audacity to fight one another. Yet, here we are in 2012 trying to fight one another.

Think about it. Our armed forces forced to pick a side on what they want to fight for when they always had one common enemy before. Think about that scenario for a minute.

People cling to outdated values and rules that they say this nation was built on. Realistically, as a mixed-race individual, this country was built upon good ideals and terrible execution. Take for example the Native American people. I happen to be partially Native American on my father’s side, and their history was fruitful until they were brutally murdered and put on reservations, all for the sake of progress.  The “Founding Fathers” had slaves of African descent, which I happen to also be partially on my father’s side. My mother is of European descent, specifically Sicilian, Lithuanian, German and Hungarian.

The people of America constantly want to revert back to these ideals.  “We the People….”

What they forget is that statement did not include all people; it merely included a certain set of people.

I’m not here to start a race war, but when it comes down to it, the founding fathers were nothing but oppressors that said one thing and did another. If that’s the America that people want in 2012, I cannot be a part of it. I know that President Obama does not want that nation either.

One nation.

Under God.

Indivisible. Oh wait…..Just Kidding.

Sounds kind of childish doesn’t it? I guess that brings up another subject. God.

I don’t know what God wants, but I can tell you that it is not this division people are proposing. The Bible gives us a set of teachings that are up to us to interpret. I do recall a couple of my favorite sections:

   Mark 12:30-31

30 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ 31 The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”

Dear America, You could get a whole lot better at the greatest commandment because quite frankly, you don’t put it into practice at all. Maybe if everyone, especially those that claim to be very religious, practiced this simple commandment, the world would be a more rational and better place to live.

   Luke 6:29

If someone slaps you on one cheek, turn to them the other also. If someone takes your coat, do not withhold your shirt from them.

Personal retribution gets you no where in any religion.

America. I am asking you to think. Think as a nation, not individuals. We are blessed as it is to have the things that we do. It is important to not take these things for granted. It is important to realize that a nation that is divided cannot get anything accomplished. It is important to realize that a president is not completely to blame. Is the government flawed? Yes. It is not so flawed that dividing it is the answer. Working with each other is the only way to accomplish anything. You may have your ideals and beliefs, but anarchy is not an ideal that should be held in high esteem.

Remember that this is America:

United We Stand….

Divided We Fall.

One thought on “The United Divided States of America

Leave a Reply

